My Memory of 9/11

Driving alone in the car pool lane
That’s my memory of 9/11
Driving in a daze
on that most horrific of days
Driving alone in the carpool lane

CNN was on in the morning
as my wife and I played with our infant daughter
Up early as always, those first year mornings so terrific
So there we were at 6:00 AM Pacific
In shock, staring at the screen, witness to the senseless slaughter

Driving alone in the car pool lane
That’s my memory of 9/11
I had a business meeting to go to , my mind on the events so tragic
I pulled into the carpool lane, not a scofflaw, just out of habit
Driving alone in the carpool lane

Radio news was droning, airplanes were grounded
reporters ran their stories, their tones were dumbfounded
People with posters of their loved ones, their family members
wandering Manhattan, asking anyone they met
“Have you seen him, have you seen her, can you try to remember?”

Driving alone in the carpool lane
That’s my memory of 9/11
Driving aimlessly 50 miles to a meeting
When the actual distance was closer to 37
Driving alone in the carpool lane

Leave a Reply

